Toukley Public School

Respect, Responsibility and Excellence

Telephone02 4396 4275

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

Toukley Public School is at the forefront of delivering the new Australian Curriculum to students. 

Staff participate in regular training and development opportunities to ensure student assessment and learning reflects the direction of the national curriculum. 

Our school is currently broadening curriculum access for students to include more specific skills in areas such as sports, arts, gifted and talented programs and statewide competitions and awards. 

We also have a strong focus on leadership where students from preschool to Year 6 are provided with regular opportunities to demonstrate and develop their interpersonal skills as representatives both within our school and in the broader community.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the primary years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 6 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science and technology.

Some primary schools may also offer languages.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. Primary school covers Early Stage 1, or Kindergarten, to the end of Stage 3.

  • Early Stage 1 includes Kindergarten.
  • Stage 1 includes Years 1 and 2.
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4.
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6.

Related content